Another PA newbie, near Reading - where to ride?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Another PA newbie, near Reading - where to ride?

Hi, I'm Jeff, another PA newbie here, I recently started riding again after a leave of absence, but I am here now and want to ride! I was looking over some other threads here, and I want to hit up Mt Gretna, Rocky Ridge and Camp Mack at some point, as they all look like fun and are relatively local to me.

I rode the Blue marsh loop the other day, however I used the "lazy man bike" - but I am fairly confident I could have done it on my normal bike, it just would have taken twice as long. One run I like to do on a very regular basis is from my house (I'm about 2 miles from blue marsh) down to the Union canal towpath trail into downtown Reading, loop at the community college and ride home. I do that because I don't have to drive anywhere, but I am not against that... it's just a fun / easy run.

Union Canal Towpath Trail

Sometimes I park at the college and ride the Schuylkill river trail, and ride south to see how far I can run. Any other "must ride" trails say within 2 hours of Reading PA? I enjoy steep single tracks, but I also like flat cruiser trails on old rail lines, tow-paths's etc as long as there are some interesting sights along the way. I really like the union canal tow path for all the interesting things to see along the way. The longest covered bridge left in PA is a really neat thing to see / ride over.

mtbr member
    You should give French Creek State Park a try, you will be able to find some steep and rocky climbs there.
    Nockamixon (Bucks County), Marsh Creek (Chester County) and Swatara (north of Lebanon) are nice places to ride and they are within 2 hrs drive.

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Check out Sals(Walking Purchase Park) over by Allentown. Some climbs there and lots of rocky technical sections.
    LOVE THE RIDE!

mtbr member