mtbr member
    Jan 2013

2018 user permits for Philly trails

I just got an FOW email stating that they are now doing the permits. In the past it was phila.gov. Now, city residents are required to pay $20 for the permit. Before it was optional.

https://www.fow.org/visit-the-park/r...-trail-permit/

Anyone know if enforcement will be more strict this year? I always get the bracelets, but have not always donated in the past. $20 is not a big deal. To me, it's more about the principal. I am a city resident who pays city tax. Why should I have to pay additionally to use the trails?

2 wheel drifter
    In 15 years I've been asked once, and it was at table set up at a trail junction with a couple of folks trying to get users to register. Last few years I only hit the trails at night and never see anyone, but I get the permit anyway. Looking on the park website, the rules appear the same as always, with no fee for residents:

https://beta.phila.gov/services/perm...-trail-permit/

But the payment link is for last year and expired. Did the email you received include a link?

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Right, the links at phila.gov are not valid for 2018. The FOW link I received and posted above is the only one I can find for 2018 permits. It was working when I first posted, but now the page is not loading completely to show the application form on the bottom half of the page. Maybe it's crashed from everyone buying their permits!

In 20+ years I have been asked only once. Actually, my friend and I got busted. It was like 1997. We came riding down one of the hills to FD where 2 rangers on bikes were posted up just waiting for people to ride down so they could ask them to see their permit. I did not have one because I did not know about the requirement at that time.

2 wheel drifter
    Yep, the payment section is loading now. Well that's annoying. I hope more money doesn't mean smoother trails.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013