mtbr member

Shop suggestions - Eugene area

Been out of the hobby for too long. Time to replace my 1988 Giant full rigid and get back in shape. Not sure on a bike yet, but I do want a new one from a local shop. Any recommendations, shops to avoid, etc...? I know of Collin's, Hutch's, and Paul's, but don't really know anything about any of them. I bought my Giant from Hutch's 2 decades ago - crap, am I old enough to say that?

Currently the Santa Cruz Heckler is at the top of my list, but I'm open for suggestions. All mountain seems to suit my riding desires the best, like to bomb the downhills, but need the exercise from cross country. I've been riding dirt bikes for the past 15 years, but need more exercise. I'm 6'4", 275 currently (shooting for 225). Willing to spend up to $3,000.

Ovaries on the Outside
    I don't have a bike shop I love in Eugene. I think they are all ok, but... You might try using the Oregon forum to see if anyone has any they'd prefer. It might depend on the type of bike you want....

mtbr member
    This is the Oregon forum???

Ovaries on the Outside
    Oh, sorry. Anyway, since no one else is chipping in- go shop at all of them and see what they have. I built my bike up with help from craigslist and help from CAT.

Tree Hugger
    Collins, Paul's, and Hutch's are the 3 big shops, but don't forget about Wheel Works, Life Cycles, and Revolution Cycles. All the shops have some employees who know alot about MTB, and other employees who are clueless.

If you go to Paul's, go to the 5th Street location, (corner of 5th and Charnelton) and ask for Rod.
    If you go to Wheel Works (11th and Lawrence), go weekdays after 5pm, and ask for Brock.
    If you go to Life Cycles (17th and Pearl) ask for Geoff, or Gilad.
    I love mankind - it's people I can't stand. ~Charles M. Schulz

Making fat cool since '71