MacKenzie River Trail without the gnar?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

MacKenzie River Trail without the gnar?

Hi,

I'm an Oregon newbie, haven't lived there since I was two years old. I'd like to go ride MRT but I'm still recovering from a broken wrist so I can't charge any of the technical lava rock sections. I can only ride fairly smooth stuff, intermediate and below.

Assuming I ride the smooth-ish route around the west side of the lake instead of the rocky east side, how much total time would you say I'd have to spend walking my bike down rocky sections? Is it a lot? I've heard there's substantial technical descents near the waterfall.

Thanks!
    Alex

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    I donít know how to answer this question without seeing your current level of discomfort, control and skill firsthand.

The sustained rock sections start just above Sahale Falls and are distributed over a long area around Sahale ... then not much until Blue Pool but that section is about 1/2 mile of nonstop rock stepdowns and step ups. If you are seriously in discomfort it will be a lot (like at least a dozen?) of mounts and dismounts around the waterfalls, then pretty much a nonstop walk from top of Blue Pool to bottom where the trail is just alongside the river.

If you have all day and either great clipless shoes or flat shoes that are set up well for hiking, then it probably doesnít matter your level of skill or discomfort because youíll be able to work it in.

The bigger time question is whether or not you can do this on a weekday. On a weekend youíll be doing even more hike a bike because there will be too many people to ride the narrow, even non technical trail sections. I wouldnít do this on a weekend if you need extra time to deal with your wrist.

Bring lots of water or a filter if you are going end to end ... shit is really heating up around here. The part below Carmen Reservoir gets hot as balls.

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    Wait ... were we on Cal
    cycling together?