Vehicle Tires- Mtbr.com

Thread: Vehicle Tires

Pipe Dreamer

Vehicle Tires

As mountain bikers we love to geek out on our bike tires, so how about our car/truck/SUV tires?

I'm in the market for some new Taco meats, and am wondering about some of the lesser name brands that go for about half the well known ones, are they just as good? Costco has a sale on Michelin and their tires will run me about $700/installed for a set of Defender LTX M/S right now. I was looking at some of what Walmart has to offer (even tho their tire dept is closed rn) and came across this good looking Atturo Trail Blade A/T at under $400 for all four and wonder if I'm just paying extra for the Michelin brand name? Not sure how much they'd be to install at another shop?

I have been using Firestone Complete Auto for years and usually just get what they have, which was recently the Firestone Destination LEs that I'm not too crazy about. I had been running Bridgestone Dueler Revo A/Ts for many years on my 4X4, now I'm buying the cheaper highway tires since I'm now 2wd. Really don't want another set of Firestones, so I think it's either Costco Michelins or having Firestone install some cheaper tires from somewhere else.

TLDR: what light truck tires should I get for my 1st gen Tacoma Prerunner, and what tires do you like in general? Use this thread for any and all automotive tire discussions as well.
    This space intentionally left blank. We apologise for any inconvenience.

mtbr member
    Dec 2007
    I'm a big fan of BF Goodrich AT's.

since 4/10/2009
    I've been halfway geeking on truck tires recently. seems like if fuel economy is a priority, tire weight should be a major factor in your decisions.

I've been buying tires for awhile from TireRack, and they've got pretty good reviews of different tires. They also do a pretty good job of listing tire weights.