Off Camber Home Improvement- Mtbr.com
Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
    Upcyclist

Off Camber Home Improvement

Well, we have a thread for "wrenching on cars", might as well have a building/fixing houses and general construction/fixing of various buildings and structures, and the materials and tools of the trades thread.

I've been painting for around 25 years now, and over the last 3-4 years have been taking on more and more carpentry jobs (mostly finish). I love working with wood and I will hopefully continue to do more of it.

My knees getting old and I'm not wanting to work the chop saw on the ground anymore, and I can't justify buying a stand, so I'm looking for ideas on a simple, cheap, and easy shop-made one. I have plenty of wood to use up, and this would be a good project for some of it.

This one looks alright, but the saw sits on a 2x4, and I'm sure it can't be that stable. I have sawhorses and was thinking I could build a platform to sit on top of those, but would need supports that extend out to support the lumber.

Last edited by Klurejr; 05-28-2019 at 11:20 AM. Reason: OP requested title change
    Berms and transitions may apply

Self Appointed Judge&Jury
    Is that you in the video, Bob?
    Quote Originally Posted by mileslong View Post
    I passionately remove rocks and corners and other stuff I find too hard to ride.

One ring to mash them all
    Quote Originally Posted by Cornfield View Post
    I have sawhorses and was thinking I could build a platform to sit on top of those, but would need supports that extend out to support the lumber.
    Get 1 or 2 of these:

https://www.harborfreight.com/132-lb...and-68898.html
    The only thing we have to fear is, nasty questions from terrible reporters.

Real eyes realize real lies.

Upcyclist
    Quote Originally Posted by the one ring View Post