Thread: Martial arts

Huckin' trails

Martial arts

Who's into what and how hardcore ?

I started nin-jutsu about 2 years ago, passed my 9th kyu and stopped for a year due to time restrictions and now going back into training. I plan to reinforce my structural strength and pain tolerance over the summer to be able to be back into the dojo when I leave my summer home. Plus I met a guy the other day who was still kicking it at 60 years old after making the top ranks into karate championships.

Be strong.
    Quote Originally Posted by NicoleB28 View Post
    topless. that's what all mtb girls do. we go ride, get topless, have pillow fights in the woods, scissor, then ride home!

mtbr member
    I'm an Arnis instructor. I think they call it Kali or Eskrima here. I used to compete in stick fighting. Since I was born in Thailand (but I am Filipino-Chinese), I think it is natural that I am also a Muay practitioner. I was a taekwondo blackbelt until I realized it is not ideal translating it to a real fighting environment (don't flame me, that's just me). I trained briefly with the Hybrid YawYan MMA team until I also realized that a grappling curriculum is not for me. I have been in different martial arts for 30 years. I am 42.

Hmmm... Ninjitsu siunds interesting. Do they teach being stealth like hiding in shadows?

mtbr member
    Jun 2012
    I have a black belt in Tae Kwon Do.
    Not as active as I once was but still enjoy it.

Huckin' trails
    Quote Originally Posted by littlebadboy View Post
    Hmmm... Ninjitsu sounds interesting. Do they teach being stealth like hiding in shadows?
    It's the main rule. Be fast and silent. You should not even notice the kill and be taken by surprise if you try to assault.

It's pretty much the learning and mastering of the fatest kill action and complete stealth execution. The US Marines and mostly the Navy Seals and Special Operation commandos have translated this art into their core training and combat techniques.