Worst ride ever....- Mtbr.com
    banned
    Jul 2011

Worst ride ever....

My doctor told me my blood was "too thick", so he sent me to a hemotologist. That guy decided to "phlebotomize" me. That's just a fancy way of saying he drained a pint of blood... much like blood donation. But, he didn't just do it once. He did it twice with about a week in between. After the second one, I went for a ride the next morning. I have never dragged so much ass in all my life. I had to push up hills that I haven't had problems with since I was a beginner.

I guess it was dumb to go for a ride so soon afterwards. Hopefully, I'll build my red blood cell count enough soon to resume riding at my previous level. Until then, I'll be taking it easy.

mtbr member
    I'm a regular blood donor (not during race season) and find it takes me ~6 weeks to perform the way I did before giving blood. Eating well helps. High iron foods. Lots of leafy greens, spinach, some red meat help, but there's no super shortcuts to making those little red oxygen carriers.

Sent from my XT1650 using Tapatalk
    2018 Santa Cruz Blur
    2015 Santa Cruz Highball
    2016 Jake The Snake

mtbr member
    It would be interesting to know what he means by "too thick".
    High Hematocrit?
    High levels of iron?
    Short clotting time?

After losing 2 pints of blood, it's reasonable to have a decrease in performance. The question is what to do about it. If the problem is dangerously high iron levels or clotting times that are dangerously short, I wouldn't do anything diet wise without consulting your doctor first. Adding in Iron or sources of vitamin K could be pretty counterproductive.

Cycologist
    Quote Originally Posted by MSU Alum View Post
    It would be interesting to know what he means by "too thick".
    High Hematocrit?
    High levels of iron?
    Short clotting time?