Wheat Free?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Wheat Free?

Life's a Garden, dig it!

Wheat Free?

I recently decided to try going wheat free, due to an inflammatory bowel disease which I have been fighting for the last 22 years. I have tested for Celiacs and the results were negative, so it supposedly wasn't gluten contributing to my issue.

I differentiate because I'm wondering if the issue isn't necessarily gluten specifically, but instead additives and processing which MAY be contaminating our wheat. I've now been mostly wheat free for about three months and I feel better. My issues are at bay, I have actually lost a little weight (down to 163 from 170-ish) as an aside.

Here's the thing that's funny though... I went for my annual physical yesterday and my normally spot-on 120/80 blood pressure, was at 110/60. Now, my blood pressure has been 120/80 for years with no variation to speak of for at least ten years. Would cutting out wheat cause my blood pressure to drop?

Anybody have an opinion? Just curious.
    "And crawling on the planet's face, some insects called, The Human Race..."

Epic eater
    Oct 2005
    I know others who have tested negative for Celiac disease but will be either throwing up or on the toilet minutes after eating any wheat...but the Celiac test always comes back negative...so I don't place a lot of faith in Celiac as being the only wheat issue that some people have. Maybe it's from the contaminated processed wheat, maybe GMO wheat, maybe an allergy that some will outgrow, who knows, but the symptoms are not subtle.

That said, if what you were eating before was causing inflammation that certainly could raise your blood pressure...and therefore changing your diet to something that creates less inflammation in your body could certainly lower blood pressure a bit. That doesn't seem that much of a stretch to me.