Upstate Sorba- Mtbr.com

Thread: Upstate Sorba

mtbr member
    Jan 2018

Upstate Sorba

I recently began riding mountain bikes again, after a lay-off of several years. While I love riding Pisgah/Mills River/BC/Dupont, those rides took of most of the day. When I road Paris Mt back in the day we rode the Fire Tower trail, and some mtb-banned trails that were hiking only, such as lower Sulphur Springs, and a trail coming in from the back side of the park. Pleasant Ridge didn't exist at that time.

So when I started riding more this year to keep in shape for the road bike, I was stoked about the Paris Mountain trails, and PR. I can take 2 hrs from the time I leave my house until I get back and get in a great ride. Now I would love to ride 3-4 times/week if the weather would cooperate.

I'm impressed with the trail support and development that has taken place in my absence. I also see the activities of Upstate and regional SORBAs, am impressed with their activities, and feel like I should support those activities with my membership and help. I am concerned with the IMBA-Sorba relationship though. It is the local Sorbas that I would like to support.

My questions:
    How independent are the local sorbas of IMBA management?
    How well do the local SORBA's coordinate among themselves, specifically Upstate, Pisgah, Wnc SORBA?
    Should I consider joining multiple SORBA chapters?

Thanks in advance for your perspective.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by manodpickr View Post
    I recently began riding mountain bikes again, after a lay-off of several years. While I love riding Pisgah/Mills River/BC/Dupont, those rides took of most of the day. When I road Paris Mt back in the day we rode the Fire Tower trail, and some mtb-banned trails that were hiking only, such as lower Sulphur Springs, and a trail coming in from the back side of the park. Pleasant Ridge didn't exist at that time.