Skills... around Asheville, NC!- Mtbr.com
    Spoke Breaker!
    Aug 2010

Skills... around Asheville, NC!

I am new to cycling (well newly returned), and need to work on my skills. One of the skills I feel I need the most help on is Jumping. Jumps are fun but a little unnerving.

I have looked all over the web and anyone (worth following) seems to suggest a Table Top to start to practice jumping. I have not spent alot time exploring the trails but I have spent some in Bent Creek and Dupont. Neither area have I yet to see a table top.???

Where in western North Carolina area is a Table Top (with public access)?

Thanks,

Fat Boy

mtbr member
    Most restaurants have dozens of them. Or you could try Burnt Mountain at Dupont.
    Friends don let friends ride road bikes.
    http://www.facebook.com/mikebmiller

mtbr member
    Feb 2007

Wink

Fat Boy get you a shovel, and dig a tabletop. Make it little at first, and then dig it bigger. You can increase the size as your skills increase, and then invite over your homies and make them cry with your sick jumping skills. If this will piss off your neighbors or your wife, then go to Bent Creek and there is one at the bottom of Greenslick. Here is a link of a video, the table it is the jump at the bottom where the dude filming eats it.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-3GR0geTfU

There are three tiny tables in a row in Bent creek on Wolf Branch, that might be a good place to start. I'd go flat pedals and wrap up in pads, you are gonna crash, which is an important part of learning to jump. Once you are sailing through the air, you can work on some style for the ladies.

"Ride Lots" Eddy Merckx
    Skills...like nunchuku skills, bow hunting skills, computer hacking skills... Girls only want boyfriends who have great skills.

Hope you have shocks and pegs Pedro ;-)
    "Big Gulps huh?...Allllriggghhht....Welp, See ya later!"

Thread Killer