Off-Road Assault on Mt. Mitchell questions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2005

Off-Road Assault on Mt. Mitchell questions

I've also posted this on the Endurance Racing forum.

Planning to do this epic for the first time. I'm an Expert Class racer and wanted advice from those who've done this race on the following:

Gearing: Currently race and train on a 2x9 (34t cassette, standard 44-32 up front). Should I add the granny for Mt. Mitchell?

Tires: Currently running regular tires tubeless with Stan's. Weighing 140 pounds, I rarely have an issue in training and never in a race. However, is it worth the weight penalty to run UST for added insurance over these 63 miles?

Thanks in advance.

--Dean

banned
    140 lbs!!! You got nothing to worry about!

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    People do it single speed so I don't think a granny is necessary.

mtbr member
    First time I did ORAMM my gear choice was a 34/21 Sure it hurt in sections but the stuff folks were granny gearing I was walking doing the same pace. Yeah if only I was 140lbs. Strap 70 lbs to your back and we will be even;-) It is a great race so just be prepared to have a blast.

mtbr member
    My left leg weighs 140 pounds.
    Friends don let friends ride road bikes.
    http://www.facebook.com/mikebmiller

"Ride Lots" Eddy Merckx
    Quote Originally Posted by D-Yob
    Planning to do this epic for the first time. I'm an Expert Class racer and wanted advice from those who've done this race on the following:
    --Dean
    ORAMM is a very difficult race and can be a killer if you plan to truly race. However, every year hundreds of average riders do it as a ride with no problem. Your lowest gear 32x34 is well below most ss'ers' gearing choice.

Sounds like you are racing so I'd advise you to stay light and fast. You'll be fine!
    "Big Gulps huh?...Allllriggghhht....Welp, See ya later!"

mtbr member

Go granny