Moving to NC from SoCAL- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2013

Moving to NC from SoCAL

Hey All!,

I'm escaping SoCal (Southern California - 25 mil pop.) where I've lived all of my life. I am moving towards the Charlotte, NC area. I've never been there, know I'm in for a slap in the face with the heat\humidity, but it's green, it's pretty, housing is affordable, and seems to me like a great place to raise a family.

Is there anywhere around Charlotte within 30-45 mins max that has decent trails. Ideally, I'd like to buy a house on the outskirts of Charlotte, ride trails (or road bike if i have to) near my house, and then drive into the city for work. Can anybody recommend a place that my have what I'm looking for?

Also, FWIW, I'm an tech guy and can probably find work near the Raleigh area as well. Not here to start debate between the two cities, just that I'd consider moving to the Raleigh area if somebody here swears by it.

I've lightly considered Albemarle, but it looks kind of "out there"? Uwharrie NF has some trails?
    Hickory looks nice, but kind of far away if I did have to work in Charlotte.
    Rock hill\ Fort Mill might have some trails?

Also open\welcoming opinions on which areas to stay away from? i.e. - ghetto, high crime\drugs, no trails :P

I like to climb, love single track, am not a jump\air-borne\huck guy. I'm a good all around rider skill level.

Thanks!

mtbr member
    Oct 2017