Greetings WNC riders!- Mtbr.com
    since 4/10/2009

Greetings WNC riders!

x-post 'cause sometimes I'm an idiot.

My wife just accepted a job in Asheville, so we're going to be moving there from Indiana in about a month and a half. Looks like we're going to have to do a short term rental while we search for a place to buy. We can't close on a mortgage until early Sept, so we'll take the opportunity to work with a real estate agent to find the right place.

Just wanted to say hello. I've been reading a number of the old "moving to Asheville" recommendation threads and making good use of them where possible. We've visited the area a number of times over the years, so we're at least somewhat familiar with it already.

I've been coming to the southern Appalachians for a very long time. My family history goes way back in Eastern TN, and there's some family property there that's been handed down for many generations. I've been visiting WNC on and off to ride since the early 2000's.

mtbr member
    Welcome! I am sure you are already aware but real estate is cut throat here. Do you know what part of town you would like to be on? There are really nice places on the East side of town. We ended up on Riceville Rd and we couldn't be happier. We never have to deal with I26. I work in South Asheville but luckily my schedule allows me to miss heavy traffic. My aunt owns property in Weaverville which is also not a bad place to be. My advice is to know what part of town you want to be on, what you are looking for, and be ready to put in an offer asap. With real estate being so fast paced you might have to compromise on a few small details. If you hesitate a day or two there will be at least 10 offers. Happy hunting and happy trails!

since 4/10/2009