FATS advice and questions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

FATS advice and questions

I'm thinking about riding FATS on Saturday and have a few questions.

I want to do around 20 miles so it seems like the three southeastern loops, Brown Wave, Skinny, and Great Wall are the right combination of distances. As this is my first time here, would that be a good choice? I'd hate to show up and miss the "one great trail you HAVE to ride" when coming to FATS.

Second, does the trail close in the rain? Looks like a 50% chance of rain Fri-Sun. My local trails (NE Atlanta) close when it rains but only after long periods of heavy rain. I'm hoping FATS is the same.

Finally, how is it for SS? I only ride my SS a few times a months but I heard this trail network was perfect for SS. I normally wouldn't ride my SS on my first time on a trail but if this is really SS heaven, I'd consider it.

mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    I did that combination of trails on Monday (Great Wall, Skinny and Brown Wave) and it totaled 19.9 miles on my setup. I think you'll like that combination and my favorite of those three is Great Wall. It just seems to have a bit of everything in a singletrack ride.

If you're on Twitter follow them at Fatsupdate. It it super dry and sandy right now. The forecast for the rest of this week and weekend is typical 40-50% chance of thunderstorms in the afternoon pretty much everyday. Even if it rains some the ground will soak it right up unless its a torrential downpour.

Can't help with the SS but I've seen tons of them and hardtails out there. FATS is perfect for just about any setup.

mtbr member
    Nov 2010