Creek crossings effect on bearings- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    May 2010

Creek crossings effect on bearings

Hello, I am somewhat new to MTB'ing, I have been riding for about almost 2 months. I ride around WNC, Bent Creek is one of my common trail systems, and there are quite a few creek/stream crossings along many of the trails.
    My question/concern is will the water splashing from the creek crossings take the grease out of my BB and other bearings or am I worrying too much? BTW, my ride is a GF Wahoo Disc. How can I check my bearings(I am a noob and learning how to work on my own bike so I do not have to rely on a LBS to tune my bike up everytime I have an issue) and how can I maintain a correct level of proper lubrication in the bearings?

Thanks for the help!

mtbr member
    This gets talked about during almost every group ride. Let me explain. If a part's life expectancy is one year, then it's life expectancy in Pisgah is six months. If you ride with someone who lives locally and their bike doesn't creak, then they're not riding or just moved up from Florida. If you want an expert opinion about bearing life and advanced wear associated with stream crossings, consult Driftwood. Although he has new hubs apparently and rumor has it that he now walks with his bike held over his head during all stream crossings. Yes, water and grit will wear your moving parts more quickly.
    "You can make some of the people happy some of the time, but you can't make all of the people happy all of the time."

mtbr member
    Are you just 'splashing' or submerging the hubs? Cup and-cone-hub seals seem to do well letting in water, but not letting it out. Also, the lube that comes from the factory sometimes doesn't hold-up to water well, in addition to being less-than-liberally used.

Highdelll did a photo write-up on here for servicing cup-and-cone hubs.

mtbr member