Coming to Huntersville NC- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Coming to Huntersville NC

Coming to Huntersville NC 10/8-10/15. Doing the 6 hour grind. What else should I ride while in the area? Nothing to technical please. I am a relative beginner at this.
    Is the National White Water Center worth a ride?

mtbr member
    I would say beech springs (poplar tent)..but its pretty rough..meaning no one is keeping that place up..which is a shame..I love that trail...I like stuff like that but thats me,,,I would say the whitewater center cause its got its easier parts.
    We Can't Stop Here...This Is Bat Country.
    Out Of Step.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Poplar tent closes for good on oct 1.

I'd recommend the us national whitewater center too. Easy to get to from huntersville, a cool hangout spot (think outdoor enthusiast theme park), and +/- 22 mi of intermediate trails. You can pick and choose loops to make quick trip if needed or do them all for good cardio and varied route.
    Last edited by pagan696; 09-25-2012 at 07:22 PM.

mtbr member
    oh no...that is a shame to hear about PT...that was one of my favorite places to ride.
    We Can't Stop Here...This Is Bat Country.
    Out Of Step.

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    If you're in Huntersville there are several trails worthwhile riding. Lake Norman State Park is currently at 23 miles of trail. Fair smooth and flowy with a fair amount of climbing. More beginner friendly than the USNWC. If you want something shorter with lot's of different terrain mixed in there's Fisher Farm Park in Davidson. It's a little over 5 miles long with several loops to mix and match as you like.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Lake Norman, specifically Monbo and Laurel Loops, should be first on your list. WWC is worth the trip too.
    Enjoy the ride!

mtbr member
    Feb 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirt Engineer View Post