mtbr member
    Sep 2018

The Shinobi - Any love for this model? Curious to hear your views - good or bad!

I recently purchased myself a Norco Shinobi 2.. I think it's a 2012 model.

It's obviously a used bike, but in very good condition. It just needed a few minor maintenance things when I bought it.. just lubrication, pressures, settings anyways, etc. Silly things that should have been done.. I think it had been out of use for a long time and the seller didn't really seem that knowledgeable about mountain bikes.. if you were selling a bike you'd think you'd know to do those things as they essentially cost nothing.. but whatever. I've done it all now and it's riding a lot nicer.

I don't want to know ask about my specific bike here, I basically just want to ask about the model in general.. Basically, as I'm new to the sport of mountain biking and I'd love to hear what you folks think of this particular model (my new bike), then and today? Or has anyone got one? Or had one? Any good things? Bad things? Or even any good stories to share about them? I've made my decision so I'm just keen to know what others think of them.

I basically had a choice.. a budget hardtail (maybe like a Voodoo) or something like this, a used, higher end bike that was a few years old.. I took my chances and went with the latter.. I dunno why but something just drew me to the Shinobi.. I just really liked it from the moment I saw it. I'll make an exception and ask, do you think I done the right thing? Or if it was you would you have got a budget hardtail? I don't mind either way.. I'm content in my decision.. just curious.. would you pick a used Norco Shinobi or a Voodoo (or some other budget brand) hardtail first?