2015 Search owner review- Mtbr.com
    zep
    mtbr member

2015 Search owner review

My summary of the 2015 Norco Search Carbon Ultegra follows--seems there are few owner reviews of this model, so posting this to assist anyone considering the Search. Note that I have no personal experience with the Steel frame model, only the Carbon frame.

I use this bike for both tarmac and gravel riding--almost all my area routes have both surfaces. Bought a 53cm Search, based on it's geometry chart Reach & Stack lengths--an excellent fit for me, at 67.5 (171.5cm) inches tall, with a 30.5 (77.5cm) inch inseam. Right off the showroom floor, the complete bike was 19.6 pounds. The stiffness-to-comfort balance of this bike I find to be very, very good. The Search seems to have about as stiff a BB as any bike I've ridden, but still does a great job of soaking up vibration. Zero torsional twist in the top tube or front end, detected. The Search feels both stiffer at the BB and yet more vibration-controlled than my custom Gunnar 'Hyper-X' steel frame, which I've owned since 2011 (recently sold).

For comparison, I also own a Specialized Diverge Carbon bike, and the Search has much the same ride characteristics. The Diverge might be just a bit stiffer at the BB (when used with the same wheels), but that and a bit more of a vertically 'limber' TT on the Diverge are the two subtle differences. Also, the Diverge has a shorter chainstay, and perhaps feels slightly more agile, during a stand-up sprint. The ride characteristics of both bikes are really awesome. The Search feels more "normal" of the two...it rides like a good steel bike, just stiffer, lighter, with more vibration damping. With the same wheelset (Stan's Grail & Hutchinson Sector tires), the Search weighs 17.7 pounds--a small fraction less than the Diverge, also shod with the Grails.