Anyone on a 2018 RKT?- Mtbr.com
    I like turtles

Anyone on a 2018 RKT?

Is anyone here on the 2018 iteration of the RKT? If you buy the complete, looks like they now have a Fox 34/120mm fork stock and no more remote for the shock. Looking to pick up a 5-star and just wanted to get some impressions. Mainly a XC guy here (I guess that's what you call riding your mtb on normal trails nowadays) and coming off many years on a HT..figured this would be more than enough bike.
    Geologist by trade...bicycle mechanic (former) by the grace of God!

2018 Niner RKT 9 RDO - enduro AF

mtbr member
    Aug 2015
    I've got the 2017. It does not have the remote either. I've just always left it in the Open position and haven't felt the need to buy one after market. Maybe if one was racing they'd perhaps save a second or two over the course? I may be more interested if it simultaneously controlled both the front and back, but again I've never felt it was essential.

I also have the 100mm 32 rather than the 120mm 34. I don't seem to lack any travel for the kind of riding I do though I do regularly bottom out from how I have the sag set. I'm fairly light so the larger stanchions are probably not necessary. I suppose this saves me a tiny bit of weight.

The head tube angle is relatively steep with the 100mm fork which perhaps contributes to the ultra nimble nature I get in tight situations and decent tracking while climbing. As such, it does feel a bit nose heavy when descending at times. I would imagine the 120mm may help shift your position rearward.

Another difference is the handlebar width. I'm running 710's as opposed to the 780's now offered.

I like turtles
    Good info. Yes...i run 720s now and cringe at the thought of 780s but will give it a go and trim down if necessary. Coming off a HT with a 71 set HA I don't see an issue with a 70. Same as you don't see where I would want a remote lockout....just reach down and hit the switch on a road section if you feel the need.