1 1/8 vs 1 1/2 Inch Headset....- Mtbr.com
    'All over it!'

1 1/8 vs 1 1/2 Inch Headset....

Can somebody enlighten me. What are the advantages of using a 1 1/2 inch headset on a bike? Does it give extra strength or stiffness?
    Also, If I plan to run a rock shox lyric coil which is 1 1/8, would it be any benificial to use this larger type headset? I have been asked what size I want on my Helius FR frame and need to understand the advantages/disadvantages of both. I don't think I will be using any larger forks on the FR than 160mm although the frame will take up to 170mm. Any larger and the ST would be the better frame.

Many thanks for any answers.

"Its All Good"
    Hi ya Lorni

I have ordered the 1.5HS on my FR.... I am a fan of the 1.5 inch size, for the fact that I believe that it is stronger and can be made stronger by the fact that there is more surfact area etc. I am not an engineer, but to me it makes sense to have a large size.... On my TFR I have the 1.5 HS, but have a reducer HS to take the Totem fork....

On the Helius, I am going with a Fox Talas fork with the 1.5HS

I would be inclined to go this way, you can always run a reducer if needed, but cannot go the other way so to speak...

it is interesting to note that the 1.5HS forks can be made lighter than the 1 1/8HS forks. Not sure if this was marketing, but does seem interesting..

Also though, Dusty Bottoms has always made a good point, who has seen failures witht he 1 1/8th HS's, no one really....

But I am going the 1.5 HS size...

Have probly not been a great help....
    Last edited by Whafe; 10-24-2007 at 10:36 AM.
    The_Lecht_Rocks: whafe - cheeers - may i offer an official apology for the wagon wheeler "dis-belief"

Err
    Calm like a bomb
    Whafe pretty much said it all.

A 1.5 head tube is generally stronger than a comparable 1 1/8 head tube
    A 1.5 steerer is stronger and stiffer than a 1 1/8 steerer