since 4/10/2009

Just reached out with local NICA club to be a coach/ride leader

The local NICA club is having their first informational meeting of the season next week and is trying to get coaches/leaders as well as kids onto the team. I offered to help on the coaching/leading side, especially as I've got some certs for skills coaching (PMBIA).

Local season starts in October for practice/rides 2x weekly, and the races are in springtime. I get the impression that they pretty much ride through the winter.

Curious why this board doesn't show in the forum list, but is findable through search.

mtbr member
    I hope you're fast, and humble. The high school kids around here are stupid fast, can ride forever, and recover almost instantly. Sure fire way to make yourself feel old, regardless of how old you are.
    I would advise not taking my advice.

J-Flo
    Apr 2012
    I'm an assistant coach on a large team. We break into multiple groups at practices. Invariably, at the start of the season (in one month), I can ride with any group but the "fast" group is a challenge early in any ride, until they simmer down and I have to be careful to avoid dropping them at the end of the ride. After a month, I can't keep up with the fast kids any more and like to lead group 2. After three more months, hanging with group 2 requires an all-out effort that leaves me spent. Precious few coaches can hang with the fast kids. But frankly, the greatest reward is with the group 3-7 kids who are learning to love the bike.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    Just a different perspective. I'm a coach. It isn't all about being able to keep up. Kids that can out ride a self proclaimed "fast" middle aged rider don't really need that much attention on most fitness building rides anyway. In addition learning to avoid positive splits can be advantageous on race day.