TRAIL VANDALISM -Enlighten me....- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

TRAIL VANDALISM -Enlighten me....

I went for a lovely evening ride after work today up Otero, and to my surprise a lot of the jumps were vandalized and torn down.

I'm somewhat new to the MTB scene(about 2.5+- years) and have grown to love all things about the sport.

Speaking to other riders along the trail, some are for progress(lets face it, bikes are getting gnarlier and more aggressive begging for a more challenging trail..) and others are complacent with its current state, which seems to be the major debate here on MTBR.

So, enlighten me. Please be civil, as I've seen a lot of ASS-HATTERY(new word?) when it comes to replying, -we're all past the middle school ages..

What? There's more?
    Building a feature on a public trail approved by the land management agency is fine, but building one because it looks like a good idea is vandalism. Not being judgmental, just stating fact.
    However, that doesn't begin to sort out Otero. If you're talking features, you are likely trespassing. Again, not judging, just saying what we all know. So there is no established protocol for building features or tearing them down on land you shouldn't be on anyway. IMBA would say we shouldn't be there. The features that appear in Otero always elicit a response, love or hate. I find them entertaining, sometimes frightening, changing, but never impeding, if I choose not to ride them. Others find the existence of features offensive. The fundamentalist, prohibitionist mindset has always baffled me. But it didn't start with mountain bikes. I'm not saying that tearing down features you don't like is the same as the Islamic State blowing up Buddhist Shrines, just that it must be from the same part of the brain.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by tyrebyter View Post