Gift from Three Bottles- Mtbr.com
    na
    Aug 2008

Gift from Three Bottles

3rd degree AC separation coming down 3B.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Gift from Three Bottles-image02_cr.jpg  

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    That is awesome. Snap!
    Hope the ride was good, heal quickly. 4 weeks?
    Its the internet...we all sleep with supermodels.

na
    Aug 2008
    I was tired that day and maybe riding a little forward. There is a tricky left turn with a rock drop towards the end of the gnarly stuff, after the bigger drops. I entered on the outside of the turn and hit a well. Someone had moved rocks to the center, leaving the side hollowed out. Front end bounced and I flew up and onto my left shoulder. Felt it snap, brief numbness and then realized immediately it was separated. My buddies gave me water, fashioned my pack into a shoulder support and we walked out. I have a 3rd degree A-C separation (acromio-clavicular) which is one of the most common MTB injuries, indeed,it can be considered a badge of courage. Treatment is non-surgical and useful function can be expected in 8-12 weeks with little or no residual effects. Quite lucky, really since I landed on dirt and not on rocks. Even luckier, my Ibis Mojo is fine!

mtbr member
    Damn Dude. (assuming) That is the exact spot and same crash I suffered two Tuesdays ago. It has to be. I went wide right. Missed the roller. Front tire dropped I went OTB on to my face and left shoulder. Hard pack dirt not rocks. I only separated my rib from my sternum it turns out so I got off considerably easier than you.There is something wrong with my shoulder that has kept me off my bike for a week. IT SUCKS!!!!. Sorry about your shoulder man heal up well.
    A.K.A. The Blood Orange.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009