Torn between these 2 Moto's- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Torn between these 2 Moto's

Fantom Pro DS http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...ds_3x10_xi.htm

Fantom Team http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...ntom_teamX.htm

I'm not a racer or anything, but I believe in the saying, "Buy once, cry once".

I can wait a month or two until the Team is back in stock so that doesn't matter. And I really don't know much other than XTR is the best, and they're both XTR but one is the DynaSys..

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    The Fantom Team you are looking at is a 2010 and it is being replaced by the 2011 Fantom Team for $2099.

mtbr member
    Jun 2011
    Different riding styles in mind with the two bikes, so it depends on what your looking for. What do you ride now and what type of riding you plan on doing? I bought a DS pro a few weeks ago and really love the bike. I had been riding a Specialized Epic for several years and the Moto doesn't climb as well, but descends so much smoother. Really fun bike going downhill. I hadn't heard the 'buy once, cry once' before, but I spent a lot of time researching and worrying about my purchase. Minus a few items the component spec is really great on these bikes. As for the frame I could go for a little less standover and little more top tube length, but the frame works with the spec and handles well.

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Thanks Higg... It will be a mix of road, dirt trails and mountain. I'm not a downhiller. Right now I ride an older Gary Fisher Joshua Y frame. Good bike but I want to try something new.

Buy once cry once: basically I'd rather spend the money up front instead of wishing I would've got something better in the first place. My budget is no more than $2000 and I want most bang for the buck and it seems that Moto is just that. My LBS want to sell me a Specialzed Camber, but it'd cost more and the components aren't even close to this moto.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007