Requesting Feedback from Fantom Comp DS XT Owners- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Oct 2015

Requesting Feedback from Fantom Comp DS XT Owners

Greetings! I am a former avid mountain biker (10-20 years ago) who occasionally gets on the trails nowadays. I have been riding a rigid fork, hard-tail Ritchey Ultra for 20 years. Although I love my “vintage” mountain bike, my back no longer likes it aggressive, stretched-out geometry. I am currently looking for a decent full-suspension mountain bike for occasional single-track use (100-150 miles per summer) priced up to $1500.

One bike that caught my eye is the Motobecane U.S.A. Fantom Comp DS XT (http://www.motobecane.com/ds/fcds.html ). It appears to have quality components and with Motobecane U.S.A. bikes being built by Kinesis in Taiwan, I expect the build quality to be good. I am looking for feedback from owners of this model. Specifically I am looking for answer to the following questions:

How do you like it?
    How “upright” is the geometry?
    Has it been durable and reliable?
    If you have a “Medium” size (18.5” or 47cm), what does it weigh?

Thanks in advance!
    2011 BMC SpeedFox SF01
    2014 Fuji Sportif 1.1 (road bike)

mtbr member
    If you're not aware of it yet, the current Motobecane brand is not the same as the old French motobecane brand bikes, it is actually just a house brand of a direct from manufacturer bike importer called bikesdirect. there is a lot of brand bashing and looking down on the bikesdirect branded bikes, but at the end of the day, they are good bikes. Just not as good a deal as their MSRP and "compare to" bikes make them look. they are usually a little heavier than the "compare to" bikes with similar components, but they are much cheaper for that extra pound of frame weight.