Newb. Honest opinions on Fantom Comp?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Newb. Honest opinions on Fantom Comp?

I am looking for my first fs, and a forum member has offered to sell me his used Fantom Comp frame. He will include fork, headset, and shock. I ride single track 2-3 times a week. I live in metropolitan Detroit area, and hardly ever travel more than an hour to a trail. For those that are familiar with the area I ride Novi tree farm, Pontiac lake, island lake, and holdridge. I am a relative newb, been trail riding for 2 seasons, and an avid cyclist for 5 yrs. My reasons for wanting an FS are the shoulder injury, back and knee problems I have as of late. Also, I consider myself a borderline clyde at 5'9" and 225lbs.

My questions are:

How is the build quality of this frame? Does it compare to the big names? Can I expect at least 3 seasons of use from it? Is my weight an issue? Will the frame's performance grow with my skill?

I plan to move all the components from my hardtail to this frame. In the end it will be an incredibly economic option for what I hope to be a capable full suspension rig.

Thanks
    Zack
    Last edited by thunderzy; 09-19-2010 at 07:41 PM.

DynoDon
    Hey Zack if you want to ride a 2009 Motobecane Fantom Comp let me know, I'll meet you at Maybury in Novi and let you ride my back up bike, it's like new, with Oury Grips, Protege 9.0 wireless computer, Shaimano SPD pedals, I can put the flats back on or if you have a pair of peddles you prefer we can put them on. it has a seat clamp too, it can be adjusted for your size easily, this bike has all the standard componets on it, Panaracers, 130mm RS Tora forks/stock spring, RS 3.2 Ario rear shock, both set at 5 inches, Shimano XT rear Deraileur, SLX front Deraileur, Juicy 3 hydralic brakes, I weigh about the same as you, I set it up stiff, I haven't ridden it since I got my 2010 Fantom Team.
    Just give me a day and time I'll bring the extra bike.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010