Motobecane Fantom Trail - help deciding- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member

Motobecane Fantom Trail - help deciding

Hello,

First time poster in this forum. A little history about me, new to mountain biking, ordered a forge 5xx and returned it after riding it twice. Decent bike for the price but felt weird and didn't like the fork, so i thought by upgrading just the fork on that one to lets say a Dart3 would have brought up the price in the range of buying a new bike with other better components not just the fork so i returned it and got a refund for it.

Now i was set on buying a Cannondale f5 from the REI for around 749$ until i saw the Fantom Trail. I am not an expert on parts but by comparing it with the little knowledge i have, it seems to have very comparable parts for a cheaper price. (trying to save some money to buy my wife a bike as well)

I would like some help deciding if there's any reason to buy the F5 from a LBS(besides the free tune ups and relationship building) and not the Fantom Trail ( better parts? etc)

appreciate any help!

here are the links to the specs for both bikes:

f5
    http://www.cannondale.com/bikes/09/cusa/model-9FS5.html

fantom trail
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...om_trail08.htm

mtbr member
    ok forget the f5 because i'm pretty decided to order a Motobeane... now i'm wondering if i should go for the Fantom Trail HT or the 700 DS Full Suspension.

http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...cane/700ds.htm

the 700ds has worse front suspension and wheels/tires i believe but has better Derailleurs. I have been reading a lot of information on these forums and most people suggest not to even think about a fs without dropping 1500$ on one.

My question is should i just stick to the trail HT or go for the 700ds

mtbr member