Motobecane Fantom 29 PRO questions.- Mtbr.com

Mar 2009

Motobecane Fantom 29 PRO questions.

I have a couple questions dealing with this bike. I am pretty new to Mountain Biking, but I went a few times and I am getting pretty addicted so now I want to get my own bike instead of wrecking someone elses! haha Anyway I went to my LBS and picked out the Specialized Rockhopper Comp Disc, but that is about 1000$! So I looked online for better prices and soon came across bikesdirect.com. I was VERY hesitant at first, but after coming to this forum and seeing all of the happy customers I am definitely willing to give it moto a shot, much better components...wayyy lower price.

I do have a few questions however. I have been reading that I pretty much have to replace the wheels if I want to do any serious XC riding...what would be a good wheel set for this, I don't really have much money, but then again I don't want to bend a rim every time I go for a ride.

My second question is a little more important. On the website it has an * next to the "100mm* Rockshox" Should I convert the fork to 100mm, and has anyone actually done this?

Last but not least does anyone have a pic up of what the MatteSlate(Gray) bike looks like?

Thanks for everyone's help.

Mar 2009
    Cancel asking about the matte slate...found one! Looks nice.... =D

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    if you are new to mtn biking, dont worry about the wheelset

chances are you wont be riding hard enough to beat them up too much...wait until they break, then worry about buying new wheels....lots of people love to immediatley upgrade and change out brand new parts, but its not somehting you HAVE to do.

as far as the fork goes, just ride it and see how you like it, if you feel you might need more travel, then worry about converting it.

the bike is well spec'd for the money, ride it and replace as you need to , dont worry about what some people say about how you need to change everything out.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008