Motobecane Fantom 29 - 2010 vs 2011 (now "Trail")- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Feb 2011

Motobecane Fantom 29 - 2010 vs 2011 (now "Trail")

Looks like the parts have changed. Anyone have an idea what the difference is? I'm still new to mountain biking, so I'm not familiar with the different components. Price is basically same, so does one have more "value" in components over the other? Seems like the Fantom 29 (2010) was conceived in 2008. Are the "2010" parts out-dated compared to the 2011?

Motobecane Fantom 29 (2010) - http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...antom29_08.htm

Motobecane Fantom 29 Trail (2011) - http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...9_trail_xi.htm

Thanks,

Sven

mtbr member
    looks like the components on the 2011 are a bit cheaper than the 2010. Must be struggling to keep the bike below $600. I'd buy the 2010 for the brakes, drive-train and fork (though I'm not certain that the fork or brakes are inferior.. the drive train certainly is).

mtbr member
    Jan 2011
    I'm new to mountain biking too. But I thought the 2010 model was a better value. Bought one for my wife and have not been disappointed at all.

DynoDon
    broz got it right, the 2010 looks better to me too.

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    Thanks guys for your advice. I'm considering purchasing the 2010 Fantom 29, however, I have never ridden a 29er yet. Based on my riding style (below), is this the best bike for a $600 budget?

10 years ago, I used to occasionally go mountain biking on trails and downhill riding with a Trek 8000 (which I no longer have). Now, I want to get back into mountain biking (live in Los Angeles), but I also plan on using the bike 50% of the time taking my 9 month-old son for bike rides on the beach bike path. I just purchased the iBert Front-Mount Seat, to mount on whichever bike I decide to move forward with. The seat is easily detached for mountain biking use.