How are all the MOTOs, WINDSORs or DAWES holding up?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jan 2011

How are all the MOTOs, WINDSORs or DAWES holding up?

Hi. I'm new to MTB and I'm seriously thinking of getting either the dawes HM1500, moto 600HT, or windsor cliff 4900 (or maybe even a trek 3700disc). I just wanted to chime in and see how everyone's rigs are holding up and handling abuse. I think BD uses quality components and I'm pretty sure that most of the prices can't be beaten. Any weak points on any of these models that I should be skeptical about? Any info you guys could give me would be greatly appreciated. I'll be doing mostly trail/XC riding, no really hardore stuff yet.
    Thanks and sorry for being a NOOB!
    Erik

mtbr member
    Jun 2010
    I asked myself the same question that you did for a year... I made a wrong decision in buying a trek 4300 disc for $600..it was so stupid decision.. it was not a bad bike, but for $600 I had bought something for less or better comments on bikesdirect... ..after one year and checking this forum . I bought a fantom pro 29 sl... and it is excellent bike... i recommend bikesdirect.. very good customer services

mtbr member
    Oct 2010
    I got the 700HT a few months ago and so far I am very pleased. Everything is solid, assembly was minimal, and it required minimal adjustments. I made a few upgrades (saddle, grips, stem, & seat post), based on personal preferences. The only real problem was the seat post which was a bit too short, which appears to be a common complaint, but with the cost of the bike I am still ahead of the game with these upgrades. I have rode this bike hard on some technical rocky trails with no problems.

mtbr member
    Dec 2010
    My 300ht is holding up great. At 259 too my door I really dont think I couldve gotten a better deal anywhere. Kind of wish I got the 400ht for the disc brakes but I got frame and fork mounts so I can ad those later.