First purchase decision: MotoB Fantom Trail HT- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2010

First purchase decision: MotoB Fantom Trail HT

All,
    .................................................. .................................................. ...............

Noob here. I crossposted in the general forum, with only one response -http://forums.mtbr.com/showthread.php?t=655726
    .................................................. .................................................. ...............

am a n00b here and a beginner at MTBing. I have only just gotten hooked on to MTBing in the past few months. I started with a walmart bike and managed to destroy the transmission pretty quickly riding single track around here in NorCal. Luckily for me, it got stolen :-)

Anyhow, looking for a first real mountain bike. Budget is < $600 tops. I looked around on Craigslist and my LBS and keep getting sticker shock. BikeDirect seems to be a great alternative for those short on money and long on tolerance ;-)

So, after a little searching around and reading reviews, i am thinking it s a toss-up between the MotoBecane Fantom HT Trail or the MotoB 700HT. Both seem to have comparable specs, but the Fantom Trail promises a better starting point....
    Also curious about any long-term reviews of the Fantom HT Trail. I see very little for this specific model.

More about me: I'm 35 yrs old, 175lb, 6' tall and 32" inseam (am considering the Fantom 20" size. I am not sure how the sizing works out considering that the Fantom trail has 120mm forks and so have a taller stance....

I am also curious about getting a 29er or a FS bike, but am veering towards keeping it simple and higher quality for the first time round.

Lookign forward to chatting with you guys!

DynoDon