Fantom or Sette Ace?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Fantom or Sette Ace?

I know this is the Motobecane forum but looking for opinions. I have been riding hardtails for 20 years. I'm currently sporting a Cannondale w/ a Lefty...LOVE IT! I'm ready to get into a full-suspension ride. I don't race but am a pretty aggressive rider. I live/ride in Montana...steep climbs and decents as well as rocky singletrack. What are your opinions on the above two bikes? Pros and cons? I was planning on spending 2k"ish" until i saw these two bikes and the specs for the price. Seem like an unbelievable bargain. I have read all about the two bikes bet/w this forum and the other, but alas...i cannot decide.

Thanks in advance

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    I have an Ace and have ridden a Fantom. The Ace is more of a XC frame, it is close to 2 pounds lighter and has 4" of travel. The Fantom is more of a "trail" bike. It uses a very beefy (and heavy) frame, but can be set up to 5" of travel. Both bikes are similar and very good, but if you want something light get the Ace. If you like the idea of having up to 5" of travel and don't mind the extra weight get the Fantom .
    2015 Niner Jet 9 Carbon
    2014 Focus Raven 27R
    2017 Lynskey GR250
    2016 Niner BSB
    1987 Haro RS1

DynoDon

I own a Fantom Team and I just read the specs on the Sette Ace

The Ace seems like a good deal, but $3,300.00 more then the Fantom Team with the componets being much better on the Fantom Team, it don't seem like such a good deal, I changed the tires, cassette, and grips on my Fantom.
    The brakes are way better on the Fantom, the shock and forks are better on the Fantom, forks are titanium and carbon fiber/w gate, the shock is a 4.2 w/ gate and remote, I would think the XTRs are better then the Srams, the Fantom weighs in at 27 pounds with my changes, thats probably lighter then the Sette I'm not sure, but the Toras weight in at least 2 lbs more then the Reba forks.

AZ
    banned