• 11-16-2010
    throoper
    Fantom Comp or Elite (HT?)
    Hey all,

I'm trying to decide between the Motorbecane Fantom Comp (http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...om_comp_xi.htm) or Elite (http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...m_elite09.htm).

A little background: I'm 5'5" 120 lbs and ride mostly cross-country where having a light bike is nice on the uphills -- hence the desire for a hardtail. It's a $200 difference, and $799 is already at the high end of what I originally wanted to spend. (I'm a graduate student and thus don't have yuppie-like wealth to throw at my outdoor pursuits, unfortunately!)

I don't know all that much about components, so my question for y'all is, is the difference between the Comp and the Elite remarkable enough to get me to spend a couple hundred above my original cutoff? Will I really notice a serious difference? I currently ride a 2004 Trek 4700, so either one will definitely be an upgrade.

And just to throw in one more question, would anyone out their advocate I take the plunge to a full suspension? I've been wary because of the weight issue, being a smallish girl. I can't say I really mind bumping over rocks and roots, and I'm already considering upgrading my soon-to-be Motorbecane HT seat stem to one of those shock-absorbing ones. But I'd love some insight. I really don't want to spend more than $1000, although I could probably talk myself into the Fantom Comp full suspension at $1100....

But as a rider on the low side of intermediate, do you think it's worth spending an extra $200-300 on either the hardtail Fantom Elite or the full suspension Fantom Comp??

Thank you SO MUCH in advance, and happy riding! (Not for us here in WY at the moment... snow's here to stay through May...)
  • 11-17-2010
    manabiker