Fantom 29er pro sl Rear Rack?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Fantom 29er pro sl Rear Rack?

Will this work? Topeak Explorer Bicycle Rack with Disc Brake Mounts: http://www.amazon.com/Topeak-Explore.../dp/B000FIAVHE

Someone w/ a 29er had suggested it, but I'm a noob and don't know about this clause: "Fits frames with threaded rack mounting holes on the dropouts. "

Pimpmobile
    Mar 2010
    There aren't any threads or mounting bosses on the Fantom frames.

You may be better off with a seatpost clamp rack something like this. . .

http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/133...ack-V-Type.htm
    Last edited by HamfisT; 09-10-2010 at 07:12 AM.
    "Fear not the ob-stackles in your path"

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    thanks... guess that was one of my last options as those things can move around.

Bushwacker
    I just mounted a similar one of these on my wifes comuter bike. Her's doesn't have mounting holes on the dropouts either. I attached the front supports right to the seat post clamp stud. Works great. It would also be very easy to frabricate a couple aluminum bands to attach the front supports to the dropouts if you want.

I've also had the seat post clamp-on style rack. It works well but limited to pretty light loads. The type of rack that attaches to the frame carries a much heavier load. My wife's rack has a 55 lb load rating. I don't think I'd put more than 5lbs or so on the seat post type rack.

On sale at Performance bikes:

http://www.performancebike.com/bikes..._1023810_-1___

This is the exact one I installed on my wife's bike:

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Zefal-Disc...-5660/14264319
    Last edited by Starkonian; 09-10-2010 at 01:41 PM.
    When I'm not windsurfing, I'm mountain biking

S*it Happens!

Your bike has this rear brake hole…so, you can use this rack. It’s the same color as your bike and can hold 110 lbs and it’s on sale for $29 Click Me! If you read the review, it comes with an arm meant for mounting in that location.

Product Description