Debating between Fantom 29PRO SL and GT Peace 9r multi- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Debating between Fantom 29PRO SL and GT Peace 9r multi

I've been doing research on mountain bikes for two months but I just can't make a decision between these two. I can get a 2009 GT Peace 9r multi for about $526 after tax,
    while Fantom 29PRO SL is $996 on the BD's website. This will be my
    first mountain bike. What's your opinion? Thanks.

GT Peace
    http://www.rei.com/product/784254

Fantom Pro SL
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...om29pro_SL.htm

Pimpmobile
    Mar 2010
    If they're both in your price range, the Moto is a much better bike on paper. If you even get into the sport a tiny bit, you'll appreciate the front shock vs. the rigid fork of the GT. The Moto has MUCH better brakes, and great drivetrain, (XT / XTR vs. Deore is no contest).

You will need to do, or have done, some basic assembly them both. and the moto will require purchasing a shock pump for about 30 bucks.
    "Fear not the ob-stackles in your path"

S*it Happens!
    They both have good frames, but, the fact remains…the moto has better everything else.

Good Luck!
    -_0
    _ `\<,_
    (+)/ (+)
    Like life…the trail is unpredictable...

Come see me after class
    Dec 2005
    the Motobecane is a lot more than $400 better than the GT, as far as components go. if you can stretch the budget, get the motobecane. and for the record, i own a GT Peace 9r singlespeed

Total Goober
    Sep 2009
    [QUOTE=HamfisT]You will need to do, or have done, some basic assembly them both...QUOTE]

They don't ship the GT, so it will come assembled.

If you want suspension, get the Moto. If you want rigid, get the GT. The Moto is a much better bike, but the GT is a good deal for what it is.

How would you get it so cheap?

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Thanks for all the feedbacks, I really appreciated.

It's really a no brainer to get a motobecane 29er, man, for all those components for just