Bike & Sizing Advice

Printable View

• 08-18-2010
    ncnmra
    Bike & Sizing Advice
    Hi all,

I'm new to the sport and rented a bike over the weekend to give XC a try. Really liked it, and now I'm in the market for a bike. While I probably wouldn't appreciate a $2000 bike, I also don't want some WalMart bike that will discourage me from the sport. Around the $500 mark is a good start I feel.

After extensive research, I came across the BD site, and was excited about the 700HT. I was about to pull the trigger, but the 19" and 21" are out of stock.

I was steered to the Fantom Trail by some other forum posts, and figure the $100 difference may be worth it in terms of component differences (I also prefer the Slate to the silver, but that's moot).

Here are my questions:

1) I noticed the 700HT has the XT rear derailleur and the Fantom Trail has the LX. Is there a significant difference? Are there any other component differences I should be aware of?

2) I'm 5'11", my "leg length" is about 34", I weigh 180lbs. I was going to go for the 19" 700HT, but I'm wondering what size I look at for the Fantom Trail. I don't know if skill level would play a role, but I would basically be considered a "novice".

3) I see that the Fantom is heavier than the 700HT. I don't plan to race, this is recreational only, should I be concerned about this?

Basically, should I jump on the Fantom or wait for the 700HT??

Any other tips and tricks would be greatly appreciated!
  • 08-18-2010
    TwoHeadsBrewing
    Welcome to the forum!

1) XT is better than LX, but there is not a big difference in performance.

2) For sizing, do this fit calculator online: http://www.competitivecyclist.com/za...LCULATOR_INTRO
    That will give you a good idea of what size frame you need.

3) Don't worry about the weight, it's probably going to be the least important factor in buying this bike.