assembling question..$$- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2010

assembling question..$$

ok ... finally I will order a fantom pro 29 sl this monday...

and I checked how to assemble the bike and it is a little bit difficult...I have some knowledge about bikes maintenance..

my question is:

what is cheaper assemling it by myself or taking it to LBS?

assembling by myself , I would have to buy the brake bleed kit $36, and the pump $30....

thank you...

mtbr member
    The brakes should be assembled and pre-bled. You should only have to mount the brake levers to the bar. Most likely your entire assembly will only require a few Allen wrenches.

Check out the vids on this site for further assistance:

http://www.ehow.com/videos-on_161_p2...ain-bikes.html

http://www.ehow.com/videos-on_2049_m...ain-bikes.html

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    I dont mind paying for tools if you know I'll use them again. They'll pay for themselves in a lifetime of tuning for yourself. This is a good opportunity to learn to build and tune. The bike shop will charge you to "assemble" the bike. If you do it, you can learn to assemble AND "tune" for yourself, which is something many bikes shops cant do for you unless you're right there while they do it, which they also might want to charge more for.

Building one's own bike is a therapy and the zen of biking. You build it exactly the way you want and you'll enjoy it more.
    We Ride In God's Country!

DynoDon
    you can get plenty of help from vids on youtube for adjustments etc, or park tool.com, the book, Zinn & the art of Mountain Bike Mainenance, its worth the price for the Fit, Emergency Repairs, Trouble Shooting Chapters, plus plenty of other info that will give you the confidence to do repairs on your bikes, on, and off the trail.. Happy Trails

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    One word: grease.
    It's your friend.
    Grease the headset, stem and seatpost.