Any other Mesa riders in the house?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2007

Any other Mesa riders in the house?

So I was looking for a new bike to replace the old Pacific that I had been riding for almost 9 years, and didn't have a clue how to figure out the right size to look for (knew the old one was no where near sized right for me). Planned on hitting a LBS to figure out sizing, then hitting craigslist, or ebay to get a ride. Wife pushed me into an impulse buy (gotta love a woman who talks you into stuff instead of outa stuff) and I left with an 06 Mesa Disc. Just for good measure, got her one as well. Loved the way it felt, was impressed with the overall build, so figured what the hell. Since welding is part of my job description, I paid close attention to that part of the build quality and was impressed. Before I left, I had em swap out the trigger type shifters for grip shifts which I am used to, put on Ergo grips, wider bars, a computer, and some decent platform pedals, hers stayed stock.

Mine.

Hers.

Once I got home, I started doing a little looking around online to find out more about my impulse buy, I must admit I was feeling a bit of buyers remorse. Back in the good ole days when I rode some BMX and freestyle, no one would be caught dead on a Schwinn, and here I was an owner now. Combine that with the complete lack of information about them on line, the stories of their decreasing quality due to a Pacific buyout, talk of department store bikes, and I was thinking I had screwed up bigtime (MTBR doesn't have a review newer than like 2002 on a Mesa). I've since reconciled my feelings since I love the way this thing rides, and I'm still impressed with the build quality.

Am I the only out out there happy with this thing?