Tires?- Mtbr.com

Thread: Tires?

mtbr member
    Jul 2014

Tires?

Im fairly new to the sport, and I'll be needing new tires soon. Currently I have the stock Bontrager tires that came on my Xcal, and find myself getting loose in corners a lot. Just wondering what people in Minnesota are running for tires. I ride mostly at Elm Creek since I live so close, Lebanon Hills, Hillside, and Cuyuna about once a month.

mtbr member
    Dec 2013
    I had stock Bontys on my Paragon and had the same issue.

Cuyuna is my home trail, so take this recommendation knowing that. Tioga Psycho Geniuses are what I run front/rear. They are pretty slice resistant (because Cuyuna) and have scads of traction, even at speed over scree. I've ran them at other trails across the mid-west and have found to be excellent in nearly every midwest soil type. Two things though: they don't do well in really wet mud or on really wet roots/wood. On wet roots and wood they are best described as "death traps". This shouldn't be an issue in the midwest since we don't ride wet trails.

Tioga now makes 3 tires with different versions of the tread pattern that is on the TPGs. The Venture (more aggressive) and the Fast 13 (less aggressive). At most internet retailers (PricePoint, etc.) you can get them for $40 a tire.

Not sure how they are on tubeless setup since I won't run tubeless (because Cuyuna).

mtbr member

Re: Tires?

Quote Originally Posted by CycleKrieg View Post
    I had stock Bontys on my Paragon and had the same issue.