Old school single track near Madison?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2020

Old school single track near Madison?

Hi all. I'm wondering if anyone knows of any old-style single track trails near Madison, WI. To clarify: I started riding in the mid-80s, when purpose-built trails for MTB didn't really exist yet. All of the trails I've ridden recently are really artificial seeming, with berms, wooden features, and so on. What I'm really missing are single track trails that just meander through the woods for miles and have more of a natural feel to them, if that makes sense.

I guess what I'm really looking for is something between the straight, flat gravel roads we have here in droves and the trail systems that feel more like a skate park than a nature ride. (No disrespect to people who love those alternatives!)

Thanks for any suggestions!

mtbr member
    To me old school means lots of rocks and roots that take a good bit of conviction to ride, and even then it's hard to make it look easy or smooth. For that you want Blue Mounds. Overload is pretty much the same as it was 20 years ago. The mounds loop is still pretty old school with enough new trail to kind of give you a mental break.

Bits of stuff like that can be found at Pleasant View and Quarry Ridge. Camrock has some old school feel in Turn it up, Corkscrew, Rattlesnake. There's quite a lot within a couple hours drive of Madison. Just don't expect a long day of meandering through the woods and not riding the same trails more than once unless you get up to Chequamegon.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    Not so near Madison, but look at new fane
    whatever...

mtbr member
    Jul 2008