Best type of bike for SE Wisconsin- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jun 2016

Best type of bike for SE Wisconsin

Hi,
    I've been riding John Muir, including Emma Carlin, for several years now. Really enjoy these trails. In your opinion is an "aggressive" hardtail over kill for these trails? meaning slack head angle, etc? Like a GG Pedalhead? Or about right? Or, is a bike like a SC Chameleon a better fit? These flowy trails, but also have some techy stuff with lots of small rocks. I ride a Salsa TJ 2017 with a 68.5 HA now. Looking to go more aggressive. But not full suspension.

Thanks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2007
    I ride more central and northern WI kind of stuff, but my opinion is a lot of the trendy new geometry is designed for, and best suited to, western type riding. The type of riding where you grind up a mountain for 45min, then its all hi speed downhill with lots of chunkiness. Short little ups and downs typical of WI seems to me more suited to a shorter wheelbase and more moderate head angle. As much as I respect the company, it seems to me guerrilla gravity is the epitome of the long and slack type, and just doesnt seem right for our riding. Everyone has a different opinion though...
    whatever...

mtbr member
    Dec 2013
    I think these are two videos that discuss this type of question.

https://youtu.be/Wf5xWJV_mCs

https://youtu.be/FLcgeqf6Fjg

My 2017 Salsa Pony Ruster (per the geo chart) has 68 HA. Honestly, for 90%+ of the Midwest that seems to be just fine.

mtbr member
    Jun 2016
    Quote Originally Posted by steadite View Post