Winter MTB- Mtbr.com

Thread: Winter MTB

mtbr member
    Aug 2016

Winter MTB

Hi, Im new to Boston, will be here probably a year. Do you guys ride during winter? Are the forest trails accesible?

BTW: Any enduro trail recommendations to start getting used to the area?

Thanks for the help!

EAT MORE GRIME
    yes and yes

most of us go fatbike and most of us ride all damn year fatbiking or head to snowmobile trails. lake dennison has awesome stuff for mass snowmobile trails

mtbr member
    Aug 2016
    Does not work with "regular" bikes? I am deciding if I buy something or not...

EAT MORE GRIME
    it works with regular bikes fine

fatbikes just allow
    a) less beating when riding frozen footprints and
    b) more float when snow conditions allow it

there will always be snow that no bike can ride in, and there is always a winter where skinny tires do fine in the woods. but fatbikes are 'season proof' that is, they will ride on more types of snow, and in the melty seasons, they don't wreck soft wet soil as bad as skinny tires

so, do whatcha want. but many of us saved the coin for fatbikes as an additional bike

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Pato Rojas View Post
    Hi, Im new to Boston, will be here probably a year. Do you guys ride during winter? Are the forest trails accesible?

Thanks for the help!
    Where exactly? Lots of great trails around everywhere. Some of the DCR properties have a March ban, but that is usually for mud season. Enduro? Most of New England has chunky rocks, big and small. What you looking for in a trail?

Just a flesh wound
    There is tons of riding. Wompatuck is open year round. The Cape is almost always snow free, but sometimes not.
    My name is Chris and I ride a Ripmo now.

Who are the brain police?
    Quote Originally Posted by Pato Rojas View Post

Thanks for the help!
    In Boston proper or North/South/East of the city? There's lots of places to ride massachusetts | NEMBA