Where else can I ride?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Where else can I ride?

I got my bike (29er hardtail) beginning of August last year, and have been mostly riding at Great Brook, Beaver Brook, and Stow Town Forest. I just started riding at Landlocked Forest, and have enjoyed that place a lot. Not too rocky and rooty, and I like how many curves are in the trails. Other than that log on the east side of the yellow trail (still can't lift up my wheel enough to even try), I've been able to handle most of it.

Today I had my first ride at Russell Mill. Besides some small sections of the blue and green trails, it was way too technical for my current ability. I also did about half of the orange trail (used the cut through). I walked (up, down, over) a lot more than I would like to admit.

I've been interested in trying out The Fells and Harold Parker, but I don't know if I'm up for those yet. I'm looking at the easy trail for Wicked Ride of the East at Harold Parker, and it looks like most of it is on fire roads. Then I hear the singletrack trails (Yellow Diamond and BCT) are rather technical and difficult. Is there anything in between?

Then for The Fells, I understand that bikes can only go on the orange and MTB loop trails. I don't know how difficult they are, but they seem to be rather long. Not sure I can handle 8 miles yet, I tend to do about 5. And the problem is that there's no way to cut through to make a shorter ride.

So what are The Fells and Harold Parker like? Can I handle it yet?

Wanna Ride Bikes?
    Jun 2014
    Try Willowdale, you can enter from Ipswich or Topsfield.
    Lots of good smooth trails there. But print out a map to bring with you, easy to get turned around otherwise.
    I love the place!
    Hold my beer and watch this!

mtbr member
    Jan 2015