Want to try riding Thunder Mountain - what do I need?- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Sep 2007

Want to try riding Thunder Mountain - what do I need?

I'm an XC guy and have been since I started riding in 1994. Never done a shuttle or taken a chair lift for riding purposes. But, my new bike seems capable of lift-served riding and I'd like to try out riding at Thunder Mountain. Aside from my bike, what sort of special (non-XC) equipment do people recommend? Helmet, knee and elbow pads, gloves, eye protection? I'm not looking to spend cash on specialized equipment I'll only use once or twice a year.

Thanks all!

@njcshreds
    I am pretty sure you can rent protective gear at the park. I like to wear gloves and I wear goggles. When I first started riding DH I just wore old ski goggles.
    Instagram = @njcshreds
    '17 Kona Big Kahuna
    '08 Kona Cowan
    '05 Kona Cowan
    '05 Kona Stab Supreme
    '06 Kona Lisa HT (hers)

mtbr member
    Full face helmet

@njcshreds
    I'll also add if you usually clip in to ride trails you may want to consider switching to flats for the bike park. At least for your first time there. (So I heard, I always ride flats)
    Instagram = @njcshreds
    '17 Kona Big Kahuna
    '08 Kona Cowan
    '05 Kona Cowan
    '05 Kona Stab Supreme
    '06 Kona Lisa HT (hers)

mtbr member
    If you're just going to try it you really don't need anything you don't already have, gloves/glasses/helmet, drop your post a little and rip it. They have trails for all skill levels. If you're looking to go and get aggressive and ride the dbl blacks or send it on Hollywood then, pads and full face helmet.

mdc
    mtbr member
    A full face and goggles. Other than that -add more air to your tires so they aren't squirmy in the corners, and firm up your suspension.

Thunder is a blast. They have SUPER easy green trails, flowy blues and blacks and some pretty gnarly double blacks. Great place to ride and hang out after- enjoy!

mtbr member
    Aug 2011