Road Jiminy Peak today - mixed emotions- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Aug 2010

Road Jiminy Peak today - mixed emotions

I took to Jiminy Peak and came away with mixed feeling about it. The trails are very technical, which I like. But it almost seemed like they were too technical. I am by no means an expert rider, but I wouldn’t consider myself a novice either. I can tear it up at Highland and have a great time. J Peak just didn’t seem to flow. I couldn’t a rhythm going. It just felt like too many 90 degree turns. Also, the trails are not clearly marked, and they are narrow. Almost grown it at some points. For a 2 hour ride I think I’ll skip it the next time. Just my opinion.

Bob

mtbr member
    Feb 2007
    Did you go on a weekend when the lift to the top was running? Jiminy is definitely more on the technical downhill side. Lots of roots and steep if you head left off the big lift. The other side of the mountain has more of a flow, it took me a few times up there to figure out the right mix of trails. There are some good combos where you can get a good flow especially if you head towards the middle of the mountain near the top of the small lift, plenty of natural stuff to jump off of too if that's your thing.

There are usually groups of regulars riding. If you every make it back, try and hook up with some of the guys, we are always willing to show people around.

mtbr member
    Aug 2010
    Yes, I went to the top. I did find one off to the left but not till I was almost half way down. I'm sure you're right too, the more you ride it the better it is. There wasn't many bikers there also, maybe a half dozen. If i head back I'll be sure to post first to see if I can get some locals to come along.

Bob

mtbr member
    AGREE 100 percent.