Otis/ToT- Mtbr.com

Thread: Otis/ToT

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Otis/ToT

anybody riding these places lately. I'm down the cape every sat but i only ride MTB from Nov to Feb & i miss it. I'd like to get out there for a change of pace but i'm concerned about lime disease. a couple of people i know have experienced it & i've seen deer in Otis. Anybody got any knowledgwe whether it's be relatively safe at this time of year? Thanks.

mtbr member
    Dec 2004
    I'm no wildlife expert nor do I work for the CDC-but, I'm pretty sure the deer tick is so named because it afflicts the deer mouse-not Deer (just saying having seen a deer at Otis may not be the harbinger of Lyme's disease you worry about).

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    there's always a chance that a tick with the bacteria could get on you while riding but one could also get on you while doing just about anything while living on the planet.

I ride both places and others here on the Cape 3-5 days a week and so far this year I've had 1 tick (not sure if a deer tick. it was small) on me. I always make several brief checks while riding and remove clothing immediately after riding and do a through check before showering.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004

Ok

guys thanks for the reply's. never been a worry-wart & i guess i shouldn't start now.

Just a flesh wound

Deer Ticks

If you find a deer tick on you (you know dug in) you have 24 hours of grace between the time it latches on to when you take it off. The chances of getting Lyme disease are virtually 0 if you find it in that time frame. Just wipe the area with alcohol.

NO FEAR!!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dang
    I ride both places and others here on the Cape 3-5 days a week and so far this year I've had 1 tick (not sure if a deer tick. it was small) on me. I always make several brief checks while riding and remove clothing immediately after riding and do a through check before showering.