Moving south to Metro Boston?- Mtbr.com
    Paste eater

Moving south to Metro Boston?

Hey folks, I have the opportunity to move south from Portland Maine down to Metro Boston and I have some questions for fellow cyclist before i commit.

I grew up on the N shore so i know the area alright but not well. Proximity to work is not REALLY relevant b/c im a photographer, but i'd like to stay on the T lines. FWIW, i'm a single 27yo male.

I also have a dog. A big one. She's a black lab and generally quite lazy and doesn't need much exercise. Dog parks are not her thing. She can deal just fine with dogs individually, but in the overwhelming chaos of most dog parks, things sometimes don't work out. Around here i take her to quieter city parks and trails or even walk the railroads tracks sometimes. Are there any metro Boston folks out there that can recommend some places to live. Also, are there any dog friendly rides in the area?

How often do you folks get out to ride a week? Currently i'm spoiled and when there is enough light, i can ride any day of the week providing i don't have previous commitments.

Then there is Road riding. I live downtown Portland, and can still ride from my front door. Is that even a possibility from anywhere on the T lines?

Then of course there is $$$ for renting. under 1600 for a 2br would really be nice.

I appreciate the help, and happy fall.

memento mori
    Feb 2004
    My biased opinion would be Ayer,Shirley,or Leominster for T line living.The road riding out that way is way better than anything you'll find inside 495.Far less congested.Plenty of dog friendly woods for walking.Save $$$ on rent.Puts you within 30-45 minutes of most the popular mtb spots,nevermind the local trails.

Paste eater
    those aren't on the T line. Commuter rail, sure...

mtbr member
    Nov 2006