Gardner area riding?- Mtbr.com
    brand newb
    May 2007

Gardner area riding?

Hey guys and gals. I'll be in Gardner/Westminster for a couple of weeks starting tomorrow evening. I'm a relative newb to MTBing, but thought I may try to see if there are any rentals/trails in Garnder? I won't have a car, so that limits my chance to drive to get to any trails, etc. I've read that Leominster State Forest is nice, but I'm not sure how I could get there.

So, does anyone have any good news for me? lol Thanks for any info/advice. Take care.

Not pretty, not lazy.
    Dec 2005
    I don't get to Gardner/Westminister area anymore but you could check for rentals and trails at the local bike shop (I forget it's name but it is right in the downtown Gardner area and the name might be O"Neils). I have ridden some trails on the Hubbardston side of Gardner and there is some singletrack but mostly doubletrack at High Ridge where the prison is. You can access some singletrack from the Westminster end of High Ridge down at the RR bridge with the graffiti on it. Sorry I could not be more help but it's been awhile but now may go and check out High Ridge soon. Leominster State forest is good but I haven't been there for 4 or 5 yrs.

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    you can check Oneils but not sure if he has something to lend out to you. if you need to pedal to the trail head from gardner, you can head over to pearly brook/gardner state forest. its is across from the back of the golf course. there is an old railroad bed that has some decent single track off it. not really marked and can be easy to get lost.

go to www.bustedspoke.com and post up. there are a good group of guys from westminster that might be able to hook you up with a loaner and maybe give you someone to ride with.

brand newb
    May 2007