New to mountain biking, bought a 1994 Pine Mountain- Mtbr.com
    mtbr member
    Jul 2016

New to mountain biking, bought a 1994 Pine Mountain

Hey - I'm new to mountain biking, wanted to try riding to work to get back into shape, and the $30 goodwill huffy I bought is going to kill me if I take it down any more large hills.. So, I did some research and tried to find a vintage bike that pretty much kicks ass ( because I have 4 kids and not a lot of spare money ) . I'm 45 years old, and way back in the day, I rode bmx for a bike shop, and assembled bikes for 2 years. So, I bought this - "Needs TLC - that's why it's for parts" ( not knowing that the entire world of mountain bike part interchangeability was 100000 times worse than bmx/freestyle)

So, I have a few questions/observations and they're mostly around things that I can't find specs on -

1) Rear derailleur hanger - Does anyone know what hanger this bike uses?

I've come to find out that "Vintage Rock Shox MAG 21 RARE" is doublespeak for "Slaying a unicorn is easier than finding a rebuild kit"
    Okay, so here's where I need help -

a) What should I do with the drivetrain, it's completely missing - Do you think I should attempt to rebuild it as it was, or use newer tech?

b) I am using this to ride to and from work, and once I get back into shape, I'll start trailriding. What are decent 26" budget wheels that are suited for mostly street, can take like/moderate abuse?

c) It's not here yet, so I can't tell how bad the fork is, is there a decent budget fork that's 1 1/8"?

d) It looks like I might have to replace the brake/shift handles, any recommendations?

Bikeapedia link for reference

Thanks,
    Todd

Hell Track